California Sex Crime Lawyer
Defending Against Sex Crime Accusations in Placer County and the Surrounding Areas
If you are convicted of a sex crime, you could spend the rest of your life on the registered sex offender list. Following an arrest, it is imperative that you take action to protect yourself and your future and contact an experienced California sex crimes defense attorney right away. We understand that your reputation, your job, your family, and your life is on the line. We aggressively defend our clients against jail time, fines, probation, and the sex offender list.
Mandatory Sex Offender Registry for Convicted Criminals in California
Following a conviction, offenders are required to place their name onto a registry list for the rest of their lives. The sex offender registry is public information, and is easily accessible to individuals, potential employers, family members, and friends with a quick internet search. When your name is on the list, identifiable information will be available to the public, including your name and age, your height and weight, the crime of which you were convicted, tattoos and scars, and even your address and photo.
Crimes that could leave you facing the sex offender registry include:
- Sexual conduct with a minor
- Sexual assault or battery
- Indecent exposure
- Child pornography
- Statutory or date rape
- Chat room misconduct
- Solicitation of a minor
Sexual Battery Charges in California
In California, sexual battery is defined under Penal Code Section 243.4 as a person that touches the intimate body parts of another person while being restrained by the accused. Depending on the circumstances of the arrest, you can be charged with misdemeanor or felony sexual battery.
- Misdemeanor Sexual Battery - If you have been charged with a sexual battery misdemeanor you may be facing up to 6 months in jail and $2,000 to $3,000 in fines.
- Felony Sexual Battery - If you were charged with felony sexual battery, your sentencing can vary greatly. You may face a prison sentence anywhere from 1 to 4 years and face fines from $2,000 to $10,000.
Don't run the risk of going to court without a skilled sex crimes lawyer on your side. We are here to protect your rights and give you a voice.
Possible California Rape Penalties
If you have been charged with rape, you will most likely face more severe consequences. According to California Penal Code Section 264 you may face the following:
- A prison sentence of 3, 6 or 8 years (sometimes longer depending on the circumstances and age of the alleged victim)
- You may also face fines from $2,000 to $25,000 if the charges involve rape of a minor
The penalties you may face will depend greatly on the circumstances and details of your case. By consulting with our sex crime attorney you can gain a better understanding of the penalties you may be faced with.